It was already a while ago now (wow, time flies) but I attended Tokyo Rainbow Pride. It was really fun and definitely exemplified the shift that’s happening with Japanese culture relating to their LGBT community. It was exciting. The parade itself was a lot smaller than an American Pride Parade is typically but It’s still very new here and a lot of people, even within the community, seem to still not be aware of it. Even still, the feeling was very much the same. Truthfully, There were a lot of foreigners, but the Japanese native population was still very prominent. There were plenty of Japanese couples there and it made me feel good to see a country I’ve spent so long studying going through similar changes my home country went through not too much earlier.

The first day I went there were a lot of booths advertising different Japanese LBGT organizations, or companies that support LGBT rights. There was also a ton of food stands and even an outdoor stage featuring artists from the Japanese Community.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Later that night I went clubbing for the first time in the gay district of Tokyo. There weren’t a lot of lesbian bars but we found one we really liked, call Gold Finger. Great name I know. It was very small but the music was great and we danced until 3 am. Boy, was I tired the next day. I recorded almost the entire Pride Parade, however, this site doesn’t allow me to upload videos without a membership so I will make a video on my channel about it, featuring that footage and when I do, I will, of course, post it here as well. I definitely don’t regret going, it was well worth the long recovery time. Man, my legs never hurt so much. I did get a lot of steps on my pedometer though.

During that weekend I stayed in a Hostel which was Capsule Hotel Style. It was really great. I will publish a blog about that experience as well, very soon. Thank you so much for reading, I hope you enjoyed it. As always, if you liked this blog you can go ahead and leave a like to let me know or even better you can leave a comment! I always love to hear from you guys. If you have any questions, you can leave it in the comments or go to my contact page and I will do my best to answer. If you like what you see here and think you might want to receive a notification for when I post, consider subscribing to my blog. If you are not a WordPress user you can now sign up with email!

Thank you again! Happy belated Pride,

Aja

 

One thought on “Tokyo Rainbow Pride Parade!

Leave a Reply

